Jack- In- The-Box Taco Copy Cat Recipe!

As you may know, you do not always have your favorite restraunts close to you when you move due to the military. My husband asked me last night if I knew how to make a crispy taco… I just looked at him like he was crazy. He then proceeded to describe the Jack in the box taco. I told him no but why did he have to talk about it because I totally wanted one now! I am so excited to say I went searching and found a recipe and I made it but tweaked it a little bit! Here is the recipe below!

Jack In the Box Tacos.. Smith Style!

Pot Roast ( Left Over) Or hamburger meat browned & drained
Chili Powder
Onion Powder
Garlic Powder
Salt/Pepper
Cumin

Corn Tortillas
oil

Cheese slices and Lettuce

I used leftover beef potroast for my meat as the filler instead of hamburger meat. It was fantastic! I do not usually measure things out, I go by taste. I shredded the meat and added it to my frying pan with water and the spices. I just used a little sprinkle over it all, tasted it and added a little more chili powder and garlic. In our home, we can not have enough garlic! Once it had absorbed the liquid, I put it into my Tupperware Quick Chef and made it into finner meat ( don’t know how to really explain it, it wasnt whole pieces of meat, more like mush I guess. That just sounds so gross! It was awesome though!) I then took my corn tortillas and warmed them in hot oil. This helps so that the corn tortillas will not break when you fold them to fry. I allowed them to drain on papertowels. Then I took the tortillas and my small ice cream scoop, added one dollop of meat and folded the tortilla over. I did it with the remaining tortillas. I then took the same oil that I had used to warm the tortillas up with and laid the tacos on it’s side. You want them to completely crisp up. I took about 20-25 minutes to do all 14 tacos on maybe a medium setting. It was so worth it!!  Then when they are done, you will allow them to sit upright and drain. Once you can handle them without getting burned, you want to add a half a slice ( on the diagnal ) in the taco shell. When ready to eat, you want to add a little shredded lettuce. These were greasy.. not going to lie and tell you that you will loose weight with them, but they were amazing! They tasted just like the real taco from Jack in the Box. They definetly curbed the cravings! I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!
image
*Frying the tacos on their side*
image
*Tacos Draining on the paper towels, You should keep adding paper towels in order for them to drain all the way.*

Recipe adapted from here.

We hope you like them as much as we did, they were super yummy and think they may make a frequent visit on the smith dinner time ideas!

As always…

Leave a Reply

